The BFG – Roald Dahl

I was a beyond avid Dahl reader as a kid and The BFG was one of the last books by the legend that I still needed to read. So imagine my utter joy when I picked up a secondhand copy last year for a low R37!

Every night, when the world is sleeping, big gruesome giants guzzle up whoppsy-whiffling human beans. And there’s only one giant who can stop them – the BFG. He’s the kindest giant there is and, with his friend Sophie in his top pocket, he sets out to rid the world of the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater and all their rotsome friends forever …

After going on a whirlwind adventure into Giant Country and the place where the BFG finds and bottles dreams, to executing the master plan of capturing the human bean-eating giants, I wished I was the kid version of me reading it. I wasn’t swept away and I didn’t feel the intense feelings of awe and wonder that I felt as a kid reading Roald Dahl classics.

The Roald Dahl website has an amazing archive of information about the book, the background and even clip of Dahl himself reading an extract from the book! #NerdHeaven! http://bit.ly/28INldq

I am however looking forward to the movie release in South Africa so I can slip into my childlike wonder again and experience it on the big screen.

I’ll definitely keep it for my nieces and hopefully they’ll grow up loving old Dahl as much as I did.

I’d love to know from you, what was YOUR favourite Roald Dahl book? Mine has to be Danny, Champion of the World.

-Babongile Z

 

Leave a Reply

