Success Through Stillness: Meditation Made Simple – Russell Simmons (@UncleRUSH)

Firstly, a big thank you to my sister PHUMZILE for getting this book for me, out of the blue one day and writing a special message on the front page for me! I’m a blessed girl I tell you.

So basically, I wasn’t aware of this book at all until it came to me via my aforementioned guardian angel. Always lekker to have an unexpected book land on your reading pile.

And what you see is what you get with this book. It’s how you can reach success through stillness, through the ancient practice of meditation. And its meditation made simple.

I’d like to share the opening lines here:

“Why should you meditate? The answer is very simple: to be happy. Which is the only reason you’re here.”

The bulk of the book takes you through the different benefits of meditation and what makes this even more special is that it’s all through Russell’s eyes – how meditation has helped him in his 20-odd year journey with it and how you can see change manifested in your life through the practise. Absolutely beautiful. You feel instantly calm by just READING the bloody book without having even begun to experiment with the practise!

Okay so that’s the bulk of the book. In what I can only imagine was a shrewd tactic, the ‘How to Meditate’ chapter is tucked away as the final chapter. It annoyed me a bit at first because as someone who’s been seriously toying with the idea of meditation, all I wanted to READ was the ‘how to meditate’ guidelines. So I pointed out my annoyance to both my sisters and in their infinite wisdom (and I’m not saying this sarcastically!) advised me that it’s probably for the best to read that information in the end – to ‘force’ you read through a bit of the theory and to get it straight from Russell’s mouth first as a solid foundation for when you finally commit to your first session. Fair enough.

I’m extremely happy though that I stuck it out and didn’t immediately skip to the last chapter first because there’s such a wealth of important information in the preceding chapters – information about studies on meditation that have been done; information about Russell’s life and thought processes before coming to the practice; information about what kind of benefits readers will come to experience should they decide to stick to the practice.

Since reading this book I am happy to say that I have begun to set aside 5 minutes before bed to meditate. And let me tell you, you don’t realise just how slow 5 minutes is! It’s a delicious 5 minutes for me to let go of the day, let go of the failures, the slip ups, the negativity and to simply ‘be’.

It’s damn difficult though! Your thoughts are always jostling! But that’s why meditation is referred to as a ‘practice’ and it’s definitely something that I want to stick to. Baby steps. Those 5 minutes will increase to 10, then 15, and then, and then, and then.

On social media, be sure to use the hashtag #successthroughstillness and follow Russell on Twitter (@UncleRUSH) and on Instagram (@unclerush). And on Facebook he’s simply ‘Russell Simmons’.

Love and light.

-Babongile Z

Leave a Reply

