Refuse – Joanne Macgregor (@JoanneMacg)

I finished off this book while sitting in the car on my way to work last Thursday (no, I wasn’t reading and driving – I was a passenger!). Then I stared out the window trying to catch my breath from the whirlwind that was Book 2 in Joanne Macgregor’s Recoil series. I mean, where do I even start?

All sixteen-year-old expert sniper Jinxy James wanted was a little freedom, but now she’s trapped between the government and the rebels, unsure of who the real enemy is. When she uncovers appalling secrets and twisted motivations, Jinxy begins to question her allegiances. Soon she will need to choose between love and freedom, as she struggles to do the right things in a world gone horribly wrong.

And horribly wrong everything goes. My stomach was in a constant knot with every page that I turned. My conclusions were always being questioned and JUST when I thought I had the book all sussed out and feeling mighty happy with my intuitions, Macgregor threw multiple curveballs that had me staggering backwards and reading on, salivating at what’s to come.

I’ve become immensely fond of Jinxy through reading the first book, Recoil, and she really strikes me as authentic, capable, strong and vulnerable – she’s only human like the rest of us. She feels so much, goes through so much, and is still courageous enough to always do the right thing, no matter how difficult and I honour and respect that. Kudos. I wish Jinx was a real life person. I’d like to be her friend!

If you’ve read Recoil, you’ll remember Jinx’s last words as she lay in the dirt at ASTA:

“Failure’s not an option. I will not quit.”

And we know our girl isn’t a quitter, but she’s about to experience something so horrible and traumatic when the ASTA guards get to her and haul her away after helping Quinn escape.

Refuse then begins with Jinx blindfolded, being led through a series of corridors.

She is questioned. Tortured. Starved.

Then taken back to ASTA where she stays for a few days before being allowed to go home to visit her Mom and twin brother, Robin. But before she left ASTA, her mind was already made up to never return.

I really don’t want to give anything away except for, get on the bandwagon already and follow Jinx through all her dangerous adventures. Physical and emotional.

We meet Zonia. Darius. Evyan (whom I highly dislike!). Quinn makes an entrance (yay!). Nicky. Bree. And a whole troupe of other players who give our girl Jinx a few things to think about. And then she must decide.

To kill or not to kill? To find out who the potential victim of the shooting is, read the thrilling Refuse, the second offering in the Recoil series.

quote-5

-Babongile Z

Published by 1001 Bookish Things

Reviews of the books we read (when we get the time to)...

Leave a comment